400 Thunder Calendar Shifts into High Gear

7 September 2016

6th  September 2016
As the 400 Thunder Professional Drag Racing Series moves closer to the season opener in Cairns, the Series has announced the re-branding of all events that fall under the 400 Thunder Banner.
Sydney Dragway General Manager Peter Beaumont today confirmed the change. “We want to drive the 400 Thunder Series into the future, and rather than have a patchwork of event names that don’t connect with the general public, we decided to unify the series by presenting a consistent brand in the form of “Thunder” in all of our event titles”.
The only exception to the name change will be the season ending Winternationals at Willowbank Raceway in June 2017. Willowbank chairman Tony Wedlock re-iterated the fact that although the new series is looking to the future, the most historic event on the Australian Drag Racing Calendar needed to be preserved. “The Winternationals is the single biggest drag racing event outside of the Northern Hemisphere, and 2017 will see the 50th running of the event. Even though the 400 Thunder Series is taking the sport to new heights, we need to make sure that we don’t forget the history associated with the sport in this country”, Wedlock said today.
The series kicks off at Springmount Raceway with Thunder in the Tropics on October 1 for the before moving to Sydney for the East Coast Thunder on November 4-5.
Full Calendar:
Thunder in the Tropics* Springmount Raceway, QLD October 1
East Coast Thunder – The Nationals* Sydney Dragway, NSW November 4-5
New Years Thunder Willowbank Raceway, QLD January 7
Santo’s Summer Thunder Sydney Dragway, NSW                      January 21
Mid Season Break           February –March
Santo’s Super Thunder*                              Willowbank Raceway, QLD April 14-15
Nitro Thunder*                                            Sydney Dragway, NSW                     May 5-6
50th Winternationals* Willowbank Raceway, QLD                June 8-11
*indicates a round of the 400 Thunder Sportsman Series